[ View menu ]

Third Annual Workshop on Crowdsourcing and Online Behavioral Experiments (COBE 2015)

Filed in Conferences
Subscribe to Decision Science News by Email (one email per week, easy unsubscribe)



Official COBE website


The World Wide Web has resulted in new and unanticipated avenues for conducting large-scale behavioral experiments. Crowdsourcing sites like Amazon Mechanical Turk, and oDesk have given researchers access to a large participant pool that operates around the world and around the clock. As a result, behavioral researchers in academia have turned to crowdsourcing sites in large numbers. Moreover, websites like eBay, Yelp and Reddit have become places where researchers can conduct field experiments. Companies like Microsoft, Facebook, Google and Yahoo! conduct hundreds of randomized experiments on a daily basis. We may be reaching a point where most behavioral experiments will be done online.

The main purpose of this workshop is to bring together researchers conducting behavioral experiments online to share new results, methods and best practices.

Basic Information

  • Submission Deadline: April 30, 2015
  • Notification Date: May 15, 2015
  • Workshop Date: June 16, 2015. 9 AM – 11:15 AM.
  • Cocktails: At the Bar
  • Location: Portland, OR. A workshop before the 16th ACM Conference on Electronic Commerce: http://www.sigecom.org/ec15/ which takes place June 15-19, 2015. The COBE workshop is the 16th.

Topics of Interest

Topics of interest for the workshop include but are not limited to:

  • Crowdsourcing
  • Online behavioral experiments
  • Online field experiments
  • Online natural or quasi-experiments
  • Online surveys
  • Human Computation

Paper Submission

Submit papers electronically by visiting https://www.easychair.org/conferences/?conf=cobe2015, logging in or creating an account, and clicking New Submission at the top left.

Submissions are non-archival, meaning contributors are free to publish their results subsequently in archival journals or conferences. There will be no published proceedings. Submissions should be 1-2 pages including references. Accepted papers will be presented as talks of 18 minutes in length.

Organizing Committee

Program Committee

  • Andrew Mao, Harvard University
  • Andrew Stephen, University of Pittsburgh, Katz Graduate School of Business
  • Akitaka Matsuo, Oxford University
  • David Reiley, Pandora
  • Eric Johnson, Columbia University Graduate School of  Business
  • Edith Law, Harvard University
  • Gabriele Paolacci, Erasmus University Rotterdam
  • Jenn Wortman Vaughan, Microsoft Research
  • Lydia Chilton, University of Washington
  • Sam Gosling, University of Texas, Austin
  • Sean Taylor, Facebook
  • Sven Seuken, University of Zurich
  • Tara Mcallister Byun, New York University
  • Ulf-Dietrich Reips, University of Konstanz


No comments

RSS feed Comments

Write Comment

XHTML: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>