[ View menu ]

Today, June 17th 2008, is Firefox Download Day

Filed in Gossip ,Research News
Subscribe to Decision Science News by Email (one email per week, easy unsubscribe)


** NOTE: Please wait until the release time to download: 10 AM LA, 1PM New York, 6PM London, 7PM Paris **

Download Day - English

What do browsers have to do with decision making? They are an excellent illustration of the power of defaults. The default home page within a browser is kept by vast numbers of users. The operating system’s default browser has, historically, has been adopted by most people. For this reason, the default browser and its settings exert an enormous influence over Web traffic, which translates rather directly into advertising revenue. And we’re not talking peanuts: Google earned $20 billion last year.

However, when a browser gets really good, it can overcome the odds and achieve widespread usage despite not being the default. FireFox is such a browser and for this reason is the official browser of Decision Science News.

Today, June 17th, 2008, marks the historic release of FireFox version 3. It can be downloaded for from the link at the bottom of this post. The source code is also free, if you’re a nerd and would like to modify it to suit your needs.

The good people at Mozilla are trying to set the world record for the most software downloads in a 24 hour period. If you like FireFox, today is your chance to help set that record, and download the new FireFox 3 today.